intro text

Selwyn governors and LLT trustees

Our school is part of the Leading Learning Trust.  The trust is a charitable company, limited by guarantee.

The trust has three members, and is governed by a group of eight trustees.  A summary of the skills and experience that our members and trustees bring to their roles is provided in the document to download on this page.  The document also contains photographs of the trustees and members, in oder to ensure that members of our school community and other interested stakeholders can easily identify those tasked with governance of the trust. The Chair and the trustees can all be contacted via the Selwyn School Office.

Details of how our trust is governed, as well as the scheme of delegation (that describes how the trust, the Local Governing Committee and the Executive Head teacher work together to consult, review, approve, recommend, and action the work of the trust and of Selwyn Primary School) are all provided on the trust documentation page of the Leading Learning Trust website.  The trust has two committees: the FARM (Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee) and the Pay Review Committee (further detail is again available on the trust documentation page).

As part of the Leading Learning Trust, Selwyn has a LGC (Local Governing Committee).  The way in which this body is involved in the decision making regarding both trust-wide and school matters is detailed in the scheme of delegation referred to above.  A summary of the skills and experience that our local governors bring to their roles is available as a document to download on this page.  A register of business and financial interests is also published as a document to download.  The Selwyn LGC does not have any designated sub-committees; however, the Chair may ask groups of people to convene to assist with specific issues from time to time.  Changes to the Local Governing Committee are made from time to time, to ensure that the school has the right mix of people to oversee its activities.

The LBC is supported in its duties by Waltham Forest Traded Services, Governance Support; the team can be contacted on 020 84966338.  Correspondence for the Chair of Governors should be sent care of Selwyn Primary School.

The current governors at Selwyn are listed below.  Where applicable, their relationship to the Leading Learning Trust is specified.  

Name Start date End date Other relevant positions
Anna Carlile - Trust Board appointed governor and Chair 14/10/2019 13/10/2023 None
Helen Mawer - Head teacher 01/09/2018 Ex Officio Head teacher
Siddhant Menezes - Coopted governor 14/10/2019 13/10/2023 None
Srishti Issrani - Trust appointed 01/12/2020 30/11/2024 None
Mohamed Chowdhury - Parent governor 24/05/2021 23/05/2025 None
Lucy Nicholls - Trust appointed  01/02/2022 31/01/2026 None
Oneija Taher - Trust appointed 21/02/2022 20/02/2026 None
Laura Partington - Staff Governor 01/06/2022 31/05/2026 None


Resignations in 2020/2021 - Barnaby Cook and Sayem Khondoker - October 2020

Resignations in 2021/22 - Alex Saunders and Nazneed Hossein - September 2021, Andrea Didier - October 2021, Abid Patel - February 2022, Beverley Entwistle - February 2022 (end of term)

This page was last updated in June 2022.

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can find out more about the cookies we use or change your browser settings. Otherwise, we'll assume you're ok to continue. Click on our Privacy Notice and our Terms of Use for additional information.