intro text

Term dates

The following table indicates both the term dates and the school and bank holidays for the current academic year 2019/2020.  Each term has been divided into two sections – e.g. ‘Autumn 1’ and ‘Autumn 2’ – which together form the full Autumn term. The half term holiday separates the two parts of the term.

Please note that the school will not close for the following religious holidays: Eid-ul-Adha, Diwali, Guru Nanak’s Birthday or Eid-ul-Fitr. If applicable, and if requested in advance, children will be authorised for leave on these days.

Calendar for the academic year 2019/2020

School Terms

Pupil Holidays

Autumn 1 - Tuesday 3rd September 2019  to Friday 18th October 2019

Half term: Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 1st  November 2019

Autumn 2 – Monday 4th November 2019 to Friday 20th December 2019

Christmas Holiday: Monday 23rd  December 2019 to Friday 3rd January 2020

Spring 1 – Monday 6th  January 2020 to Friday 14th February 2020

Half term: Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020.

INSET Day: Monday 24th February 2020 - Staff - Only Staff in School

Spring 2 – Tuesday 25th  February 2020 to Tuesday 7th April 2020

Spring Break: Wednesday 8th April 2020 to Friday 17th April 2020

Note that Easter falls within this break.

Summer 1 – Monday 20th April 2020 to Friday 22nd May 2020

School will close for the Early May Bank Holiday on Friday 8th May 2020.

Half term: Monday 25th May 2020 to Friday 29th  May 2020

Note that the Spring Bank Holiday falls within the half term week.

Summer 2 – Monday 1st June 2020 to Friday 17th July 2020

Summer Break: Monday 20th July 2020

 

Calendar for the academic year 2020/21

School Terms

Pupil Holidays

Autumn 1 - Thursday 3rd September 2020  to Friday 23rd October 2020

Inset Days: Tuesday 1st September & Wednesday 2nd September 2020

Half term: Monday 26th October 2020 to Friday 6th  November 2020

Autumn 2 – Monday 9th November 2020 to Friday 18th December 2020

Christmas Holiday: Monday 21st  December 2020 to Friday 1st January 2021

Spring 1 – Monday 4th  January 2021 to Friday 12th February 2021

Half term: Monday 15th February 2021 to Friday 19th February 2021

Spring 2 – Monday 22nd  February 2021 to Thursday 1st April 2021

Spring Break: Friday 2nd April 2021 to Friday 16th April 2021

Summer 1 – Monday 19th April 2021 to Friday 28th May 2021

May Day: Monday 3rd May 2021

Half term: Monday 31st May 2021 to Friday 4th June 2021

Summer 2 – Monday 7th June 2021 to Friday 22nd July 2021

Summer Break: Friday 23rd July 2021 to TBC

 

Attendance and punctuality at school

At Selwyn, we are committed to raising standards in achievement, attendance and punctuality. Classroom doors open at 8.50am. Children must be in the playground, ready to go into class at 8.50am to receive their attendance mark on the register. Every week the class with the best attendance in each key stage wins the attendance trophy and 10 minutes extra playtime.

At the end of the term the class with the overall best attendance wins a class trip.

Absence based penalty notices are issued in line with the London Borough of Newham's code of conduct regarding absences from school.

This page was last updated in September 2019.

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can find out more about the cookies we use or change your browser settings. Otherwise, we'll assume you're ok to continue. Click on our Privacy Notice and our Terms of Use for additional information.